Uniforms and Decorations

Vestment and medals of the Order can only be worn during duties and ceremonies of the Order. In all occasions where the mantle is worn, the neck medal and all other insignas of Knights and Dames must also be worn (for example, the star of the chest). The only decorations that can be worn on the mantle are the pilgrim shell and the decoration for the pilgrimage of year 2000. 

Knights cannot wear their mantle during public activities without having first the approval of their Lieutenancy / Magistral Delegation, and that of the Lieutenancy / Magistral Delegation where the activity takes place. The same rule applies for Dames of the Order.


The mantle (cape)

Many years ago, Knights wore uniforms but today, they only wear the mantle, white for the Knights and black for the Dames, embellished on the left side by the insigna of the Order. The mantle is only worn during religious ceremonies and is accompanied by a beret for the Knights and a mantilla for the Dames. The Lieutenant also wears a heavy gold cord over his mantle.












The mozetta

Members of the clergy who are members of the Order wear the mozetta in all occasions where the mantle is worn. The mozatta  is  also worn during Eucharistic celebrations preceding the meetings of the Lieutenancy.




The ribbon of the neck medal is placed under (and largely hidden by) the collar, unless of course it is a wing collar shirt. The Cross of Jerusalem rests on the tie, immediately under the knot. When worn with a bow tie, the Cross must be positioned between 2.0 and 2.5 cm under it. The ribbon of the neck medal of a Dame is longer, and the Cross of Jerusalem rests on the chest.

No other insigna must be worn with the neck medal, except for the shass and the breast star.

medaille-1 medaille-2



Breast Stars

The star of a Knight or a Dame Grand Offcier, or the star of  a Knight or a Dame Grand Cross, is worn on the chest, on the left side of the suit or the dress.


Star of the Grand Officer


Star of the Grand Cross

Wearing of Medals

In 1906, the Holy See created a specific decoration for the Order, positioned after the Vatican decoration of the Order of Saint Sylvester. This decoration has four ranks: Knight/Dame, Knight Commander/Dame Commander, Knight Grand Officer/Dame Grand Officer, Knight Grand Cross/Dame Grand Cross. There is also a fifth rank called Knight of the Collar, but it is rarely given.


The Knight wears, around the neck, the small Cross of Jerusalem (3.5 cm) and the military trophy suspended to a 4 cm black ribbon.  

The Dame wears the same decoration suspended to a black ribbon but the medal is positioned lower on the chest. For the Dame, the military trophy is replaced by a gold bow.  


Small cross around the neck


Beret badge


Knight Commander

The Knight Commander wears, around the neck, the large Cross of Jerusalem (5 cm) and the military trophy suspended to a 5 cm black ribbon.

The Dame Commander wears the same decoration suspended to a black ribbon but the medal is positioned lower on the chest.


Large cross around the neck


Beret badge


Knight Grand Officer

The Knight Grand Officer wears, around the neck, the large Cross of Jerusalem (5 cm) and the military trophy suspended to a 5 cm black ribbon. A breast star representing a large eight-pointed silver star, topped by a small cross enclosed in a gold circle and a green laurel wreath, is also worn on the left side of the suit.


Large cross around the neck
 and star on the breast


Beret badge


Knight Grand Cross

The Knight Grand Cross wears the large Cross of Jerusalem suspended to a black sash draping from right shoulder to left hip. No other decoration must be worn on the sash. The sash is placed under the vest, except in the presence of the Grand Master, where it is worn over the vest. A large eight-pointed silver star is also worn on the left side of the chest. The neck medal is not worn with the sash. 

The Dame Grand Cross wears the same decoration suspended to a black sash. The only difference is that the military trophy is replaced by a gold bow.


Sash worn in diagonal
and breast star on the chest


Beret badge

Other Decorations

Other decorations rightfully received by a Knight or a Dame for military service or for service for a government, a foreign government or other authentic Orders of Chivalry, can be worn jointly with the decorations of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre.

Note :
1. Members who have papal decorations (Order of Saint Gregory the Great,
    Order of Saint Sylvester, etc.) can wear those insignas and decorations after those of
    the Order of the Holy Sepulchre.

2. Since only one neck decoration can be worn, it must be that of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre.  
f another valid decoration has, too, a neck decoration, it will be represented 
    by a miniature worn on the left side of the chest.

3.Other papal decorations such as the Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice Medal, the Benemerenti Medal and
   others that don't have neck medal, must be worn full size rather than miniature and  
   on the left side of the chest

Rules 1,2 and 3 mentioned above also apply to civil decorations.


Pilgrim Shell

The Pilgrim Shell is the choicest decoration of the Order. It can only be bestowed by the Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem, and only to members of the Order who have made a pilgrimage to the Holy Land to renew their engagement in front of the Holy Sepulchre and pray on the grave of Christ.

This decoration consists of a scallop shell, the ancient badge of a pilgrim, in silver, in the center of which is placed the cross of the Order in red enamel bordered with gold. It is pinned on the cape, in the center of the Cross of Jerusalem.

coquille-pelerin coquille-pelerin-miniature Miniatures  


Palms of Jerusalem

The Palms of Jerusalem (Golden, Silver and Bronze) can be presented to members of the Order who have rendered exceptional services to the Order or the Holy Land. 


Order of Merit of the Holy Sepulchre

There is also an Order of Merit of the Holy Sepulchre to honour those who have rendered important services to the Order. Any person, catholic or not, who has demonstrated unquestionable moral conduct, charity and love for the Holy Land, can receive the Order of Merit of the Holy Sepulchre. The decoration has three classes: Cross of Merit, Cross of Merit with Silver Star, Cross of Merit with Gold Star.

Those so decorated cannot become members of the Order.